Skip to content

Update: Virgin trains misery

05/11/2009

Following my last post about my  Virgin train misery and tweets flying around @virgintrains on twitter. It has achieved some short term results – whilst I travel back up to Glasgow today.

  • Richard Baker General Manager for Virgin Trains Liverpool, North Wales & Chester to London routes arranged for me to meet Gary Iddon, General Manager of Wolverhampton Station. It was brief but we will meet again to discuss disability access on their rail line;
  • I’m sitting in First Class –  upgraded for the outward journey thanks to Richard Baker. It has made my return back home to Glasgow a lot more pleasant (which would have cost £104 return – £35 more than the standard ticket I bought (that also includes a 1/3 off with my Disabled Rail card).
  • Virgin Train Customer Services Senior Manager are also investigating my complaints regarding Sunday’s nightmare journey.

Do you have any suggestions to put to Virgin Trains? I think we feel we do not have opportunities often to engage with corporate companies like this.

As a Deaf person mine is good accessibility at all times especially during train chaos. Updates via text / notices /twitter messages so I do not have to ask people sitting by me whilst travelling (make use of those hash tags on twitter) and more Disability /Deaf awareness training for staff. Oh and first class travel every time.

What’s your wish?

One Comment leave one →
  1. 11/01/2010 21:59

    Hello! How’s things? Since we last chatted I have been working hard on my site and added you to my blog roll.

    Tweet soon!

    Rich

Leave a Reply

